Playoff field announced

Photo by Ryan Coleman,

The NCAA announced its selections, including two Pool B teams, to the Division III NCAA playoffs. Here's the full list and seedings at each site.

Games begin Thursday, May 18. First-round matchups will be 1/8, 2/7, 3/6, 4/5 in eight-team regionals and 1/6, 2/5, 3/4 in six-team regionals, with game times to be announced by each regional on Monday.

The only differing teams from our projection, as always, occur at the end of the process, where the NCAA took Alvernia and then got Rowan in, with what would almost certainly be the last overall selection. The proximity of the South Regional to so many schools, however, gives the committee a significant amount of latitude to place teams, meaning indeed, as we noted in our projection, Shenandoah could get moved out of the South. As could Birmingham-Southern. 

Why didn't your team get in? We've broken it all down for you: Here's all the at-large teams, plus the bubble teams and those left at the table.

Which deviation from our projection was most surprising?
Alvernia in
Augustana out
Bethel out
Case out
DePauw in
Rowan in

South Region Hosted by Averett University, Danville, Va.

1. Salisbury
2. LaGrange
3. Rowan
4. Emory
5. Otterbein
6. Roanoke
Mideast Region Hosted by Washington and Jefferson, Washington, Pa.

1. Wooster
2. Cortland
3. La Roche
4. Washington & Jefferson
5. Misericordia
6. Keystone
7. DePauw
8. Earlham
Central Region Hosted by Webster University, Sauget, Ill.
1. Birmingham-Southern
2. Washington U.
3. Wartburg
4. Webster
5. North Central (Ill.)
6. Greenville
West Region Hosted by The University of Texas at Tyler, Tyler, Texas
1. Texas-Tyler
2. Cal Lutheran 
3. Centenary (La.)
4. Linfield
5. Concordia (Texas)
6. Rhodes
Mid-Atlantic Region Hosted by Middle Atlantic Conference, York, Pa.
1. Johns Hopkins
2. Shenandoah
3. Wheaton (Mass.)
4. RIT
5. Alvernia
6. Elizabethtown
7. SUNY Maritime
8. Lesley
New York Region Hosted by SUNYAC, Syracuse, N.Y.
1. Oswego State
2. Southern Maine
4. Tufts
5. Castleton
6. Ithaca
New England Region Hosted by Massachusetts Maritime Academy, Harwich, Mass.
1. Mass-Boston
2. Arcadia
3. St. John Fisher
4. Salve Regina
5. Babson
6. Suffolk
7. Worcester State
8. Penn State-Berks
Midwest Region Hosted by Wisconsin-Whitewater, Whitewater, Wis.
1. UW-Whitewater
2. Concordia-Chicago
3. Adrian
4. St. Scholastica
5. UW-La Crosse
6. St. Thomas 
7. Macalester
8. St. Norbert
Teams advancing to the Division III World Series will be seeded to determine first-round matchups.