Redhawks overcomes opening loss to win title

More news about: La Roche


La Roche College won their third straight AMCC baseball title on Sunday, defeating Penn St. Behrend, 4-2.   The Redhawks (36-9) will await word on their NCAA Regional Tournament opponent, to be announced on Monday.

La Roche started early, with OF Corey Lazor tripling in 3B Colin Williamson for a 1-0 first inning lead.  It was deja vu in the third inning, as Lazor tripled in Williamson to make the score 2-0. The Lions got their bats going in the fifth as RFJohn Hlavinka drove in 1B Nathan Noe but was then tagged out oversliding second to end the top half of the frame with the score 2-1.

Behrend opened the sixth right where they left off.  DH Matt Murray's sacrifice fly scored 2B Scott Sada and the score was knotted at 2.  The Redhawks responded in the seventh with two of their own as OF Luis Navedo drove in two for a 4-2 La Roche lead.  That was all they needed to earn the win.  David Lemleywent the distance to get his third decision of the season.

2016 All Tournament Team

La Roche: Corey Lazor, Tanner Wilt, David Lemley

Penn St. Behrend: Brandon Bergstrom, Brian Bohman, Phil Myers

Mount Aloysius: Andrew Schreiner, Bryn Brown

Pitt-Greensburg: Anthony Bozzuto, Dylan Pounds

Hilbert: Ryan Bonafede, Paul Wujek

Pitt-Bradford: Justin Beimel, Pat James