Montclair State wins first title in extra innings

More news about: Montclair State | UW-Oshkosh

Montclair State won its first championship in dramatic fashion. In the Red Hawks' second extra inning of the championship, Leroy Horn belted a home run in the 10th giving Montclair State the title.

Montclair State started the scoring in the first. The first two batters reached base and John McClain hit a home run to right field. The Red Hawks built their lead to 4-0 in the second when Kevin Cavallo doubled, scoring Bill Coyle.

In the third inning, the Titans got on board. Following a Dave Schliem single and a Kevin Reichardt walk, Terry Jorgensen doubled, driving in both runs. The Red Hawks answered with a Mike Wenrich sacrifice fly driving in McClain, who led off the inning with a walk.

Both team traded runs in the fifth. The Titans scored on a sacrifice fly by Kevin Murdock and John Deutsch lead off the bottom of the inning with a home run.

UW-Oshkosh tied the game in the sixth. With two outs in the inning, Jorgensen continued his hot hitting with a home run to left center driving in Tiedemann and Reichardt.

The ball continued to fly out of the ball park as Cavallo and Deutsch both hit home runs in the bottom of the sixth to regain their three-run lead.

Five runs in the seventh put the Titans in control of the game. All nine batters got to the plate and the big hit was a two-run double by Reichardt. The other three runs were scored on a hit batter, double play and a throwing error by the Montclair second baseman.

Montclair came up with two runs in each of the seventh and ninth innings to send the game into extras. A bases-loaded walk in the seventh brought the Red Hawks within one run and a Jim Fasano home run tied the game at 11-11.

In the beginning of the 10th, UW-Oshkosh appeared to be on their way to the win. Consecutive doubles by Murdock and Schreiber put the Titans ahead. After an error, Wayne Masters came in and got Todd Schliem to ground into a double play.

In the bottom of the 10th, Wenrich singled to the left and Horn followed with a home run to right. Masters earned a record third win in the tournament and Brian Wessley took the loss.

John Deutsch was named the tournament MVP as he hit .526 for the tournament with three home runs and 10 RBIs. Joining Deutsch on the all-tournament team from Montclair was Pepe Herrero, Cavallo, Fasano, and Masters. Kevin Murdock, Jorgensen, Schliem and Wessley represented the second-place Titans. Rounding out the team was Joe Crimi and Brian Cassidy from Eastern Connecticut and Garry Ormsby from N.C. Wesleyan.

All Tournament Team
MVP - John Deutsch, Montclair State

Catcher - Kevin Murdock, UW-Oshkosh
First Base - Pepe Herrero, Montclair State
Second Base - Kevin Cavallo, Montclair State
Third Base - Joe Crimi, Eastern Connecticut; Jim Fasano, Montclair State
Shortstop - Garry Ormsby, N.C. Wesleyan
Outfield - John Deutsch, Montclair State; Terry Jorgensen, UW-Oshkosh
Designated Hitter - Todd Schliem, UW-Oshkosh
Pitcher - Brian Wessley, UW-Oshkosh; Brian Cassidy, Eastern Connecticut; Wayne Masters, Montclair State.