Oshkosh wins title in battle of D-III powers

Power and persistence paid off for UW-Oshkosh as the Titans won the 1985 NCAA Division III World Series with an 11-6 triumph over the Marietta Pioneers.

Earlier, UW-Oshkosh eliminated the Ithaca Bombers with an 11-4 win. That victory was the 400th in coach Russ Tiedemann's 16-year career with the Titans. "I told the kids that I'd much rather get that 400th win in the national tournament than down south on the spring trip next year. Without the 400th win there would not be the 401st, " said Tiedemann.

Marietta wasted no time with Titan starter, Fred Kirchenwitz, touching the senior righthander for three runs in the top of the first. Monte Duncan drew a leadoff walk before Roger Thompson singled to right. A grounder by Jeff Wiktorski up the first base line advanced both runners, opening up a base for hot-hitting John Hefner, who was intentionally walked. Designated hitter Jon Finke then chopped a single over third plating both Duncan and Thompson. Kirchenwitz was pulled in favor of Brian Wessley after walking Drew Witouski. Bill Varley connected for a sacrifice fly to center, scoring Hefner for the third run.

UW-Oshkosh countered with two runs in the first off Marietta starter Mike Kramer. Kevin Reichardt walked and Dan Miller and Terry Jorgensen clubbed back-to-back singles with Reichardt scoring. Brian Cashore follwed with a sacrifice fly to center to score Miller.

The Titans took a 4-3 lead in the second inning as Dave Nelson singled and Tom Barnetke hit his second homer of the series on a 0-1 offering by Kramer. Oshkosh added an unearned run in the third on a single by Miller, an error by the pitcher Kramer and a single to right by Russ Tiedemann.

Marietta never caught the Titans as they added runs in the fourth, fifth and seventh innings. For every run added by the Pioneers, the Titans would come back with a run of their own.

Wessley got the win in relief and Bob Stocker come into the game in the seventh and got the last nine outs for the save. Kramer took the loss for the Pioneers.

Against Wessley and Bob Stocker, the Pioneers uncharacteristically had 16 fly outs. "That's not our game," said head coach Don Schaly. "I was convinced that we could score off Stocker but he did a nice job and I give him credit. The big thing he did was he threw strikes. He had the lead and he threw strikes."

Tiedemann credited his middle man, saying: " Brian gave us an outstanding performance. We needed to have it.

"I thought if we could get into the seventh inning without Wes getting into trouble, then we could bring on Stocker. That was our game plan and it worked beautifully."

Story previded by Tom Barnetzki

1985 All Tournament Team
MVP - Terry Jorgensen, UW-Oshkosh

Catcher - Drew Witouski, Marietta
First Base - Rusty Tiedemann, UW-Oshkosh
Second Base - Dan Miller, UW-Oshkosh
Third Base - Chris Goldschrafe, William Paterson
Shortstop - Jim Fasano, Montclair State
Outfield - Terry Jorgensen, UW-Oshkosh; TJ Gamba, Ithaca; Roger Thompson, Marietta
Designated Hitter - Lou Milano, Ithaca
Pitcher - Bob Stocker, UW-Oshkosh; Jim Katschke, Marietta.