Eastern Connecticut breaks through for title

No matter what happened, the Warriors were going to be champions. On the final day of the Championship, the Eastern Connecticut State Warriors, coming off a hard-fought win in 12 innings to force a winner take all game, defeated the Cal State Stanislaus Warriors to capture their first championship.

In the first game, Eastern Connecticut found themselves down by one run in the 12th inning and scored two in the bottom half of the inning to extend the season one more game.

In the championship game, Cal State Stanislaus got on board first with a run in the opening frame. Eastern Connecticut chased Jack Mayer in the third inning. Tournament MVP, Jeff Blobuam relieved Mayer but was unable to hold Eastern Connecticut scoreless. Once the dust had settled, Eastern had a 6-1 lead they would not give up.

In the sixth inning Cal State Stanislaus got to Eastern Connecticut starter, Gary Kuzoian when they closed the gap to two runs. Relief pitchers John Morrel and Rob Roveto came in and held the Warriors. Rob Roveto pitched the final 3.1 innings for the save. Kirk Raithel pitched the final two innings for Cal State Stanislaus.

1982 All Tournament Team
MVP - Jeff Blobaum, Cal State Stanislaus

Catcher - Jim Tucker, Eastern Connecticut
First Base - Archie Drobiak, Eastern Connecticut
Second Base - Gary Varsho, UW-Oshkosh
Third Base - Tom Reynolds, Eastern Connecticut
Shortstop - Ken Lisko, Marietta
Outfield - Dave Kook, Cal State Stanislaus; Tom Lechnir, UW-Oshkosh; Greg Clark, N.C. Wesleyan
Designated Hitter - Norm Cutler, Eastern Connecticut
Pitcher - Jeff Blobaum, Cal State Stanislaus; Gary Kuzoian, Eastern Connecticut