Glassboro State completes the repeat

Glassboro State won their second straight D-III Championship in 1979.
Rowan athletics photo

A first-inning home run by second baseman Tak Upshur helped Glassboro State to a 3-0 decision over Cal Stanislaus State, giving the Profs their second straight NCAA Division III Baseball Championship. Matt McArrow tossed a three-hit shutout in the final game of the 1979 competition, which was held at Marietta College in Marietta, Ohio. Glassboro State added single runs in the seventh and eighth innings, but Upshur's home run was enough for the win.

The game winning hit was one of five hits in the series for Upshur, named the competition's most outstanding player. He led all players with six runs scored and five stolen bases, including three in one game (equaling a Division III record). Louis Souza, who had won a game earlier in the series for Cal State Stanislaus, pitched well, but his team did not provide enough run support.

Cal State Stanislaus, which had outscored its opponents 74-7 in regional play, started the finals the same way with a 12-4 win over Rhode Island College. However, the Warriors then ran into Glassboro State, a 7-3 winner over Mansfield State. When the dust cleared, Glassboro State had pounded Stanislaus, 18-2. An 8-6 victory over Mansfield State kept Stanislaus' hopes alive, but McArrow's pitching and Upshur's hitting decided the outcome.

In additional to McArrow and Upshur, Glassboro State placed Ralph Wendell (3B), Brendan Rosenberg (CF) and Jeff Datz (C) on the all-tournament team. Selections from Cal State Stanislaus were outfielders John Hamilton and Randy Filkins. In addition, four players from Mansfield State were picked: Steve Madrovsky (1B), Bryon Fuller (SS), Jim Madden (DH) and Denny Thomas (P). Madden was the series' top batter, with a .700 average.

1979 All Tournament Team
MVP - Tak Upshur, Glassboro State

Catcher - Jeff Datz, Glassboro State
First Base - Steve Madrovsky, Mansfield State
Second Base - Tak Upshur, Glassboro State
Third Base - Ralph Wendell, Glassboro State
Shortstop - Byron Fuller, Mansfield State
Outfield - John Hamilton, Cal State Stanislaus; Randy Filkins, Cal State Stanislaus; Brendon Rosenberg, Glassboro State
Designated Hitter - Jim Madden, Mansfield State;
Pitcher - Matt McArrow, Glassboro State; Denny Thomas, Mansfield State.