Glassboro State wins first championship

Glasboro State became the second team in D-III to win a baseball title
Rowan athletics photo

A 5-3 decision in a showdown match with host institution Marietta gave Glassboro State the 1978 NCAA Division III Baseball Championship, and gave the division only its second winner in the sport.

1978 Tournament scores and box scores

Glassboro State 4, Cal State Stanislaus 3
Ithaca 7, Marietta 3
Marietta 5, Cal State Stanislaus 4
Glassboro State 7, Ithaca 1
Marietta 5, Ithaca 4
Marietta 11, Glassboro State 10
Glassboro State 5, Marietta 3

1978 Playoff Results

Stanislaus State had won the only two previous Division III tournaments, but this time the Warriors took two straight losses for an early exit. Glassboro State and Marietta battled all the way through the championship. Glassboro State took wins over Stanislaus State and Ithaca and then lost the first match with Marietta. Marietta lost their opening game to Ithaca and then took a decision over Stanislaus State before winning the initial encounter with Glassboro State to advance to the title game.

In the title game, a combination of good hitting and good pitching helped Glassboro State to the win. Tournament MVP Bob Pfeffer picked up his second complete-game win in the finale, tossing a seven-hitter. The hitting was spread throughout the order with three players picking up two hits and all but two starters getting at least one. Dino Hall, Tom Peterson and Ralph Wendell each drove in one run for the Profs. Second baseman Jim Burton, who led the tournament in hits, RBIs, triples, home runs and stolen bases, picked up a pair of hits for Marietta; but it wasn't enough.

Burton, who batted .409, tied a Division III record by hitting two triples in Marietta's earlier win over Glassboro State. It was one of 11 records which were equaled or broken during the tournament.

1978 All Tournament Team
MOP - Bob Pfeffer, Glassboro State

Catcher - Bob Holden, Glassboro State
First Base - Tom Peterson, Glassboro State
Second Base - Jim Burton, Marietta
Third Base - Kurt Mahaney, Cal State Stanislaus
Shortstop - John Nicolo, Ithaca
Outfield - Dino Hall, Glassboro State; Tim Peterson, Glassboro State; Abby Gladstone, Marietta
Designated Hitter - Greg Inselmann, Marietta
Pitcher - Pete Kelly, Marietta; Bob Pfeffer, Glassboro State