Cal State Stanislaus repeats for 1977 title

Cal State Stanislaus had an exclusive collection of Walnut and Bronze trophies from Division III baseball.


1977 Tournament scores and box scores

Glassboro State 11, Brandeis 3
Cal State Stanislaus 5, Marietta 3
Brandeis 11, Marietta 9
Cal State Stanislaus 14, Glassboro State 1
Brandeis 13, Glassboro State 10
Cal State Stanislaus 8, Brandeis 5

1977 Playoff Results

Earning its second straight title, Cal State Stanislaus took a 8-5 decision over Brandeis to capture the 1977 NCAA Division III Baseball Championship. DH Mike Romano homered and drove in three runs to lead Cal State Stanislaus.

The California school is the only team to win the competition, which began in 1976, and has yet to lose a game in Division III Championship action.

The Warriors used outstanding balance in achieving their second Division III Championship. Seven starters batted .294 or better during the year, the pitching staff compiled a record-setting 2.69 ERA and the defense fielded at a sparkling .955 clip. These Warriors were at their best in postseason play, devastating the regional oppositions with three one-sided victories (wins of 20-2, 10-4 and 22-1).

The competition stiffened at the World Series, but three more consecutive wins brought Cal Sate Stanislaus its second consecutive national championship. Cal State Stanislaus moved into the championship competition at Marietta College and defeated the host school 5-3. The Warriors then defeated Glassboro State (now Rowan University) 14-1, scoring a record 11 runs in the top of the ninth inning to advance to the Championship game.

1977 All Tournament Team
MOP - Rusty Kuntz, Cal State Stanislaus

Catcher - Steve Finnegan, Brandeis
First Base - Bob DiGrazia, Brandeis
Second Base - Mike Valponi, Cal State Stanislaus
Third Base - Jim Roberts, Brandeis
Shortstop - Frank Albano, Glassboro State
Outfield - Rusty Kuntz, Cal State Stanislaus; Ed Allia, Brandeis; Rick Lancelotti, Glassboro State
Designated Hitter - Tim Peterson, Glassboro State
Pitcher - Gene Oliver, Cal State Stanislaus; Mike Lehfeldt, Cal State Stanislaus.