Trinity takes first title

Jose Santos had a big game in the championship clincher.
Photo by Larry Radloff,

Trinity (Texas) won its first Division III baseball national championship, sweeping two games from Keystone 14-6 and 10-7 on Tuesday to clinch the best-of-three championship series.

The Tigers continued to rap out hits in the nightcap, and pushed across two key runs in the top of the ninth to clinch the win. Drew Butler had another multi-hit game, going 3-for-5, while Conor Moore, Nick Jewett, Jose Santos and Andrew Waters had two hits apiece.

Felix Baez came back on two days' rest to get the start in the opener for Keystone, while Troy Nelson got his first start in Appleton for Trinity. But Baez did not get out of the fifth, and a succession of relievers culminated in mop-up duty at the end as Trinity defeated Keystone 14-6.

Drew Butler swung the big bat for the Tigers, as he went 4-for-6 with six runs batted in. Jeremy Wolf went 2-for-3 with three walks and two RBI, while Brody Fehmel walked three times as well and scored twice. Alex Herceg went 3-for-5 with a homer for Keystone. 

Follow the action on Twitter (#d3b) and checkback for updates about all the action on the field. Our scoreboard will have the links to live stats and video and other links such as audio where available and game stories and box scores as the games finish.